Energy Improvement Corporation

About EIC

Energy Improvement Corporation (EIC) is a New York State non-profit, local development corporation that is focused on helping property owners reduce energy waste, save money and improve the quality of their buildings through clean energy projects involving energy efficiency and renewable energy.

EIC offers its Energize NY services (project financing and building owner support) in all its municipal members as well as operates Solarize Westchester.

EIC is controlled by its member municipalities, which include counties and cities across NY State and Towns in Westchester County.

Our Mission

The overarching goal of the Energy Improvement Corp is to save money and energy, and reduce greenhouse gas emissions in New York State, by enabling energy related improvements that meet or exceed state standards through innovative community based outreach and marketing efforts. In addition, it will be a purpose of the Corporation to facilitate and finance qualified energy efficiency improvement projects and renewable energy system projects for residents, organizations, institutions and businesses in participating municipalities in New York while operating in a financially self-sufficient manner.

Board Meetings

EIC’s Board of Directors meets four times a year at different locations, including at EIC’s offices at 2051 Baldwin Road, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598. Check the Meeting Schedule link on the left sidebar (under the "About EIC" heading) for details on upcoming meetings.

Join Us

If you are a municipality interested in becoming a member of the EIC, click here to learn more. If you would like to have your community join EIC, view a sample letter that you can send informing your municipal leaders of the EIC opportunity

** Announcement **

Energy Improvement Corporation (EIC) elected two new members to its Board at its Fourth Annual Meeting of Members on April 6, 2016. Dana Levenberg, Supervisor of the Town of Ossining, and Warren Lucas, Supervisor of the Town of North Salem, were each unanimously elected to three-year terms. Also re-elected to the Board were Joseph Mareane, County Administrator, Tompkins County, and Steve Neuhaus, County Executive, Orange County.

Representatives from 22 EIC member municipalities and NYSERDA and EIC staff at EIC’s 2016 Annual Meeting. In the photo are EIC Board members, Charles B. Strome,III, EIC Board Chair and City Manager of New Rochelle (front row, second from right); Chris Burdick, Supervisor, Town of Bedford and Co-Chair of Sustainable Westchester (front row, third from left); Michael Genito, Commissioner of Finance & Budget Director, White Plains (front row, fourth from right); Dana Levenberg Supervisor, Town of Ossining (front row, third from right); Warren Lucas, Supervisor, Town of North Salem (third row, third from right); Peter Parsons, Supervisor, Town of Lewisboro (front row, fifth from right).